You will not see Quicklaw’s familiar “Register later” button anymore. From now on, the registration screen is automatically bypassed for the McGill campus-wide access.
No “Register later” button in QL
Comment
Category Archives: databases
ICLR Online, UK Case Law Database
The Law Library is happy to offer to our users an access to a newly purchased UK case law database, ICLR Online.
The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales was established in 1865 by members of the legal profession with the object of “preparation and publication, in a convenient form, at a moderate price, and under gratuitous professional control, of Reports of Judicial Decisions of the Superior and Appellate Courts in England and Wales” (Memorandum and Articles of Association, 1870). As well as the official Law Reports, ICLR publishes the Weekly Law Reports, the Industrial Cases Reports, the Business Law Reports, the Public and Third Sector Law Reports and the Statutes and Public and General Acts.
In October 2011, ICLR launched an online database, ICLR Online. ICLR Online is the hub of legal authorities dating back to 1865. A dedicated case law platform presents the cases in a comprehensive and readable format. The law reports are combined with the Citator+ to present all the relevant case information in one screen, making legal research easier.
ICLR online can be accessed at Subject guides / Law / Legislation and cases- foreign jurisdictions
New vLex Platform
As of today, the vLex database, has moved to a new platform. The new vLex is more user friendly and has a new design with more options and filters to perform more quick and precise searches. You can access and download the user guide to the new vLex platform here.
New at Westlaw
New Aboriginal Law title now available on Westlaw Canada. Part One of the Aboriginal Law title of the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, 4th Edition, is now available on Westlaw Canada. This title will be released in two parts. The first part explains the general Canadian legal framework with respect to Aboriginal peoples. Topics covered include the sovereignty of the Crown, the division of legislative authority, the Crown’s obligations to Aboriginal peoples, and the Constitutional framework of Aboriginal rights.
Archives of the Civil Code Revision Office of Quebec (C.C.R.O.) are online
The archives contain the working papers of one of the principal organs for private law reform in Quebec history. The archives are made up of the C.C.R.O.’s working papers, reports, correspondence, minutes of meetings, internal memoranda, etc., dating mostly between 1966 and 1979. The President of the C.C.R.O., Professor Paul-André Crépeau, donated his copies of the material to McGill University. There are approximately 4000 documents in the archives, stored in over 300 volumes. The total collection of the papers of the C.C.R.O. in the possession of McGill University amounts to approximately 40,000 pages.
In 1995, an index to the archives was created by Professors John E.C. Brierley and Nicholas Kasirer that has been incorporated into the database. In 2008, with significant support from the Wainwright Trust, a project of digitizing the archives was begun. This led to the creation of this website, with the assistance and support of the Library Technology Services section of McGill University Library.
The archives of the C.C.R.O. is a rich source for those interested in the working methods of the agency charged with a re-codification of private law in the civilian manner in North America.
L’Alter Ego – Code de procédure civile du Québec est dans AZIMUT
Lancé en avril 2012, ce service est le fruit de la collaboration de la maison d’édition Wilson & Lafleur et de SOQUIJ. L’Alter Ego – Code de procédure civile du Québec dont la renommée n’est plus à faire bénéficie de l’environnement de diffusion de SOQUIJ, dont des liens vers plus de 12 000 décisions, provenant de ses banques. Tout comme pour la version imprimée, vous accédez au contenu par une table des matières ou par un index des sujets. De plus, vous avez accès à un moteur de recherche vous permettant de retrouver un article ou un terme particulier parmi près de 11 500 annotations.
eDOCTRINE: nouvelle source de la doctrine québécoise
eDOCTRINE conçue par CAIJ est un nouveau outil qui vous offre un accès au texte intégral de plus d’un millier d’ouvrages de doctrine publiés par le Barreau du Québec et par Wilson & Lafleur. Vous pouvez lancer une recherche dans l’ensemble des titres ou naviguer dans chaque titre, par volume, chapitre, section ou article. Vous pouvez accéder eDOCTRINE à partir de notre Law Subject Guide – Legal Treatises Collection.
eLOIS: nouvelle source de la législation et doctrine québécoise
eLOIS est un nouveau outil de CAIJ permettant de consulter le texte intégral bilingue des lois annotées suivantes :Charte des droits et libertés de la personne, Code civil du Québec, Code de procédure civile, Code des professions, Code du travail, Loi sur les accidents du travail et les maladies professionnelles, Loi sur le Barreau, Loi sur les normes du travail, Loi sur la santé et la sécurité du travail, Loi sur les sociétés par actions.
Le texte de ces lois correspond à la version diffusée dans le site des Publications du Québec et est reproduit avec l’autorisation de l’Éditeur officiel du Québec.Chaque article de loi est présenté dans sa version française et anglaise et dispose d’un historique législatif et d’un lien au texte officiel. Il est enrichi d’un historique législatif, de liens à la jurisprudence et à la doctrine citant l’article, des commentaires du ministre le cas échéant, des débats parlementaires et positions du Barreau entourant son adoption, de liens vers des rapports et guides rédigés par des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux, de renvois à des dispositions législatives connexes. La Loi sur les normes du travail est aussi enrichie des annotations jurisprudentielles et doctrinales de Charles Caza publiées dans la collection Alter Ego de Wilson & Lafleur.
Vous pouvez accéder eLOIS à partir de notre Law Subject Guide – Canadain legislation and cases.
Nouvelle base des données Hélinia
A partir du début de mois de février, la Bibliothèque de Droit Nahum Gelber a le plaisir de vous offrir l’accès à une nouvelle base des données Hélinia où vous pouvez effectuer une recherche sur plusieurs dizaines de milliers d’articles réunis au sein des mélanges (festschrifts) et études francophones. Cette base de données résulte de l’indexation des contributions de 99 % des mélanges parus en France et de très nombreux mélanges francophones, sans limite de date de parution.
New resorce for finding Canadian government and legislative publications
The Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada (APLIC) has announced the release of its unique pan-Canadian bilingual government and legislative publications portal GALLOPP (Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal) / PPGPE (Portail des publications gouvernementales et parlementaires électroniques). This portal is a result of collaboration between provincial and territorial legislative libraries from across Canada and the federal government’s Depository Services Program (DSP). It provides one-stop access to over 320,000 electronic provincial, territorial and federal government publications and legislative materials dating back to 1995 that were collected by Legislative libraries in Canada for their jurisdictions. As of 2013-07-12 the portal provides full-text access to the content from the electronic government documents collections of the following libraries:
- Alberta Legislature Library
- Legislative Library of British Columbia
- Manitoba Legislative Library
- New Brunswick Legislative Library
- Newfoundland and Labrador Legislative Library
- Northwest Territories Legislative Library
- Nova Scotia Legislative Library
- Ontario Legislative Library
- Library of the National Assembly, Québec
- Saskatchewan Legislative Library
- Government of Canada-Depository Services Program
The portal can be accessed through our Law Subject Guide, in the Canadian Legislation and Cases section.