The Law Library is inviting you again to the legal databases training offered by the publishers:
QuickLaw (LexiNexis)
Wednesday, January 30th, 2013 from 12h30-14h
Azimut-Juris.doc (SOQUIJ)
Wednesday, February 6th, 2013 from 12h30-14h
Westlaw Canada (Carswell)
Wednesday, February 13th, 2013 from 12h30-14h
Sign-up sheets are available in the Law Library Computer Classroom.
Since this Fall, the Law Library provides access to another database from the Making of the modern law series, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926. It contains historical resources previously found only at the largest and oldest repositories. FCIL includes pre-1926 treatises and monographs, sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries, in the following areas: International Law; Comparative Law; Foreign Law; Roman Law; Islamic Law; Jewish Law; and Ancient Law.
You can access the database by clicking on Legislation and cases- foreign jurisdictions
in the Law subject guide.
As promised, I am posting the dates of the database presentations. All students are welcome.
Azimut
Wednesday October 10th
12:30 – 2:00
Westlaw Canada
Wednesday October 17th
12:30 – 2:00
QuickLaw
Monday October 22th
13:30 – 2:30
Legal researchers can now access on CanLII a collection of over 9,000 decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada dating back to 1907. These decisions are fully integrated and cross-linked to any subsequent case on CanLII in which they are referenced. The addition of a 1,600 cases ensures that CanLII users will have access to all judgments published in the Supreme Court Reports since 1907. More comprehensive collection of 1876-1907 cases can be found at the Supreme Court of Canada website.
KeyCite Canada includes now three new judicial treatment types: Overruled, Considered in a minority or dissenting opinion and Referred to in a minority or dissenting opinion. You can find out more about them here.
It happened again… You lost your AZIMUT password, and you need to find some Quebec cases 🙁
The only way to recover your AZIMUT username and password is to write an e-mail to our staff member who is a designated contact person for SOQUIJ, Ramon Lasso ramon.lasso@mcgill.ca, asking him to recover your login credentials. Do not forget to include your McGill ID number and your full name in the e-mail.
Link to the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Hein Online) is now in the Law Subject guide under the heading Periodical Indexes
As of now, McGill Library provides access to three Making of the Modern Law databases:
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
We use the term primary sources not in the historian’s sense of a manuscript, letter, or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute, or regulation. Designed to complement The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, this archive offers online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
The Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.
You can access the databases by clicking on Legislation and cases- foreign jurisdictions
in the Law subject guide
Another new addition to the Hein online is the collection of Canada Supreme Court Reports, official bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. This collection includes more than 9,400 cases which include background information, statutes and regulations, authors cited, analysis and the decision. At the moment, we cannot make a direct link to this collection in our subject guide, so to access Canada Supreme Court, click on the Hein Online link in the Law subject guide http://www.mcgill.ca/library/library-findinfo/subjects/law/ under the heading Quick Links.
As of recently, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is available through Hein Online platform. The interface and search capabilities have improved, and the index can be browsed by subject and publication title. At the moment, we cannot make a direct link to this database in our subject guide, so to access Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, click on the Hein Online link in the Law subject guide http://www.mcgill.ca/library/library-findinfo/subjects/law/ under the heading Quick Links.